About OHTO

Ontario’s Highlands Tourism Organization (OHTO) is one of 13 Regional Tourism Organizations (RTO) created by the Ontario Government as a means to more effectively coordinate tourism development efforts and increase visitation to the Province. OHTO was founded in 2010 and operates as a not-for-profit organization, governed by an industry-led Board of Directors.

OHTO’s mandate is to build and support a competitive tourism region, known as Ontario’s Highlands, through marketing and product development. OHTO functions in partnership with established and recognized tourism organizations, municipalities and entities within the region to move forward in a spirit of cooperation and collaboration.

The Ontario’s Highlands region covers a large portion of eastern Ontario, which includes the counties of Haliburton, Lanark, and Renfrew, as well as portions of Frontenac, Hastings, and Lennox and Addington. It is one of the largest regions in the Province and is the only region that is entirely rural.

Land Acknowledgement

The tourism region called "Ontario's Highlands" is on traditional Algonquin territory and is acknowledged by Indigenous Peoples as unceded. To the southeast, Ontario's Highlands is also on Mohawk territory. To the west/southwest, Ontario's Highlands is on Ojibwe territory. We are grateful that Indigenous Peoples have been stewards of this land and beyond from time immemorial. We are called to treat this land, its waterways, plants, animals, stories and its Peoples, with honour and respect. All my relations.